President’s Trophy Grade I : Abdul Faseeh enters history books

Day three of the third round in President’s Trophy Grade I 2023-24 saw Ghani Glass inching close to victory despite Pakistan Television’s (PTV) top effort with the bat in the second innings. Meanwhile, the game between Khan Research laboratories (KRL) and Higher Education Commission (HEC) is set up nicely for an exciting finish on the last day. State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) put a fight against a strong Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL).

Ghani Glass vs PTV at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

Ghani Glass require 95 runs to win with nine wickets in the bag as PTV’s spirited second-innings effort yielded valuable runs. Continuing from their overnight score of 183-2, the PTV duo of Taimur Khan (160, 200b, 27x4s, 2x6s) and Mohammad Suleman (106, 196b, 10x4s, 1×6) went onto score valiant hundreds. Both batters shared a third-wicket partnership of 263 runs, helping PTV obtain a lead of 218 runs.

PTV managed a total of 409 setting a target of 219 for Ghani Glass. Leg-spinner Mohammad Rameez Jnr bagged a five-wicket haul, taking his tally of wickets in the match to nine. Shoaib Akhtar and Saeed Ali picked up three and two wickets respectively.

In pursuit of the target, Ghani Glass got off to a solid start as their opening batters, Sharjeel Khan (74 not out, 92b, 8x4s, 2x6s) and Mohsin Riaz (28, 51b, 4x4s, 1×6) notched a 100-run partnership. Mohsin was removed by Mohammad Sadaqat while Sharjeel was joined by Tayyab Tahir (17 not out, 39b, 2x4s) as the pair saw off the day with a total of 124-1 on the board.

KRL vs HEC at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi

KRL set a target of 434 for Higher Education Commission (HEC) after stretching their overnight lead of 113 runs. KRL opening batter, Abdul Faseeh (156, 179b, 16x4s, 4x6s), the first-innings centurion, brought up his fifith first-class hundred. He also become just the fourth Pakistan batter to score 150 or more in each innings of a first-class game after Zaheer Abbas, Faisal Athar and Sadiq Mohammad.

Sharoon Siraj (65, 59b, 8x4s, 3x6s) and Maaz Sadaqat (53 not out, 44b, 9x4s) struck brisk half-centuries to take KRL’s second-innings total to 401-9 before they declared.

HEC’s Adeel Meo, Jahanzaib Sultan and Waseem Akram bagged two scalps each while Mohammad Azab, Mohammad Junaid and Saad Khan struck once. HEC lost opening batter Jahanzaib Sultan (13, 20b, 3x4s) early on as Sirajuddin removed him.

Mohammad Huraira (55 not out, 55b, 9x4s) and Saad Khan (44 not out, 61b, 8x4s) joined forces to stitch an unbeaten 101 run partnership taking the team total to 117-1 by the close of play. HEC require 317 runs to win the game with nine wickets in hand.


SNGPL vs SBP at State Bank Stadium, Karachi

SBP were all out for 257 in their second innings as they continued from their overnight score of 59-2. Rameez Aziz (80, 208b, 9x4s, 1×6) top-scored while keeping one end safe for a majority of the innings.

Mohammad Ali removed skipper Usman Salahuddin early on while Muhammad Irfan Khan (75, 118b, 9x4s, 1×6) made sure to arrest the imminent collapse with a half-century. Mohammad Ilyas chipped in with a vital cameo of 33 runs from 15 balls, comprising of six boundaries and one maximum.

Mohammad Awais Anwar picked up three wickets while Shahnawaz Dahani and Mohammad Ali returned with two wickets each. Bilawal Bhatti, Mubasir Khan and Abdul Samad also struck once. SNGPL’s chase was rocked early when Mohammad Abbas dismissed Abid Ali (2, 9b) and Ali Waqas (5, 26b) in an economical spell. On day four, SBP require eight more wickets to win while SNGPL need to score 108 more runs.

Scores in brief:

Ghani Glass vs PTV at National Bank Stadium

Ghani Glass 319-9, 80 overs (Saad Nasim 150, Hussain Talat 49, Shahbaz Javed 45; Mohammad Sadaqat 3-72, Adil Naz 2-52, Uzair Mumtaz 1-20, Hasan Mohsin 1-43, Israr Hussain 1-60, Mohammad Junaid 1-70) and 124-1, 30 overs (Sharjeel Khan 74 not out, Mohsin Riaz 28, Tayyab Tahir 17 not out, Mohammad Sadaqat 1-36)

PTV 128 all out, 36.2 overs (Taimur Khan 50, Mohammad Suleman 28; Mohammad Rameez Jnr 4-25, Shoaib Akhtar 4-37, Niaz Khan 1-13, Musa Khan 1-33) and f/o 409 all out, 96.4 overs (Taimur Khan 160, Mohammad Suleman 106; Mohammad Rameez Jnr 5-146, Shoaib Akhtar 3-75, Saeed Ali 2-33)

KRL vs HEC at UBL Sports Complex

KRL 411-7, 80 overs (Abdul Faseeh 153, Sharoon Siraj 64, Waqar Ahmed 60, Maaz Sadaqat 46; Mohammad Azab 3-103, Waseem Akram 1-72, Mohammad Junaid 1-92) and 401-9 dec, 79 overs (Abdul Faseeh 156, Sharoon Siraj 65, Maaz Sadaqat 53 not out; Adeel Meo 2-35, Waseem Akram 2-42, Jahanzaib Sultan 2-92)

HEC 379-8, 80 overs (Awais Zafar 111, Saad Khan 67, Ghazi Ghouri 56; Arshadullah 4-77, Sharoon Siraj 1-52) and 117-1, 22.2 overs (Mohammad Huraira 55 not out, Saad Khan 44 not out, Jahanzaib Sultan 13; Sirajuddin 1-32)

SNGPL vs SBP at State Bank Stadium

SBP 170 all out, 59.1 overs (Umar Amin 48, Zain Abbas 36, Muhammad Irfan Khan 32; Shahnawaz Dahani 6-40, Mohammad Awais Anwar 2-33, Bilawal Bhatti 1-29, Mohammad Ali 1-52) and 257 all out, 89.4 overs (Rameez Aziz 80, Muhammad Irfan Khan 75; Mohammad Awais Anwar 3-29, Mohammad Ali 2-49, Shahnawaz Dahani 2-73)

SNGPL 305-8, 80 overs (Mubasir Khan 84 not out, Asad Shafiq 77, Bilawal Bhatti 54; Mohammad Ilyas 4-77, Kashif Bhatti 2-64, Sameen Gul 2-69) and 15-2, 10.4 overs (Abdul Samad 5 not out, Ali Waqas 5; Mohammad Abbas 2-8)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *